« Página Principal « Canções  « Regressar   Avançar »


Separate Ways

(West / Mainegra)



Red West e Richard Mainegra escreveram Separate Ways para Elvis. É algo biográfica pelo facto de Elvis e Priscilla terem acabado de se separar quando a canção foi escrita. Elvis gravou a canção em 27 de Março de 1972 nos estúdios da RCA em Hollywood. Separate Ways teve uma permanência de 12 semanas na tabela Hot 100 da Billboard, chegando ao 20º lugar. Na tabela country chegou ao Nº 16; na tabela Easy-Listening, ao 3º lugar. As vendas em todo o mundo ultrapassaram largamente o milhão de exemplares. O documentário Elvis on Tour utilizou um take alternativo de Separate Ways.



I see a change is coming to our lives

It's not the same as it used to be
And it's not too late to realise our mistake
We're just not right for each other

Love has slipped away and left us only friends
We almost seem like strangers
All that's left between us are the memories we shared
Of times we thought we cared for each other

1. There's nothing left to do but go our separate ways
And pick up all the pieces left behind us
And maybe someday, somewhere along the way
Another love will find us

Some day when she's older, maybe she will understand
Why her mom and dad are not together
The tears that she will cry when I have to say goodbye
Will tear at my heart forever

1. (repete)

Onde foi lançada
Lançada pela primeira vez em single »


- Separate Ways / Always on My Mind (RCA 74-0815) Novembro de 1972. Lançamento normal »

- Separate Ways / Always on My Mind (RCA GB-10486) Fevereiro de 1976. Relançamento da série ouro.



- Separate Ways (1973) »

- Double Dynamite (1975) »

– Memories of Elvis (1978) »

– Pickwick Pack (1978) »

- Elvis: Memories (1978) »

- The Elvis Presley Collection, Volume 2 (1979) »

-  Always on My Mind (1985)

- Walk a Mile in My Shoes – The Essential 70’s Masters (1995) - caixa

- Platinum – A Life in Music (1997) - caixa

- A Touch of Platinum, Volume 2 (1998)

- Love Songs (1998)

- All the Best (1999)

- Burning Love (1999)

- Junichiro Koizumi Presents My Favourite Elvis Songs (2001)

- On Tour – The Rehearsals (2004) - FTD »

- Elvis by the Presleys (2005)

- Always on My Mind (2007)

- Separate Ways (2007)

- Standing Room Only (2009) - FTD »

Elvis From Hawaii to Las Vegas (2012) - FTD »

- Hits of the 70s (2012) - FTD »


Lançamentos Pirata:

- Special Delivery from Elvis Presley (1979) - Flaming Star Records

- Elvis on Tour (1980) - Amiga Records


« Página Principal « Canções  « Regressar   Avançar »