Main Page  Songs   Return   Forward

Ask Me


(Modugno, Giant, Baum & Kaye)

Originally, Ask Me was the Italian song Io, written by Domenico Modugno. The English lyrics were written by Bill Giant, Bernie Baum and Florence Kaye. Elvis first recorded Ask Me on May 27, 1963, at RCA's Nashville studios. That version has never been released. The released take was recorded at the same studio on January 12, 1964. Elvis's single reached #12 on Billboard's Hot 100 chart during its 12-week stay. An alternate mix was heard on the French single (RCA 45-567): one of the stereo channels was omitted, eliminating the Jordanaires' vocal backing and other instrumentation, and all that was heard was Elvis and Floyd Cramer's organ playing.


Ask me if I wanted to caress you
And I'd confess
Ask me if I'm longing to possess you
I'll answer yes

1. Now that we're together
I could hold you close forever
And I swear that I would never let you go
There's no question that I care more than you know
Love me darling, just be mine completely
And there's nothing I won't do if you
just ask me

I'll answer yes

1. (repete)
Just ask me
Just ask me

Where it was released:
First released on single 

- Ain't That Loving You Baby / Ask Me (RCA 47-8440) September 1964. Standard release. The original picture sleeves read "Coming Soon! ROUSTABOUT Album". In October 1964 the sleeves were changed to read, "Ask for ROUSTABOUT Album".

- Ain't That Loving You Baby / Ask Me (RCA 447-0649) November 1965. Gold Standard Series reissue.

- Elvis' Golden Records, Volume 4 (1968) 
- The Other Sides - Worldwide Gold Award Hits, Volume 2 (1971) 
- The Elvis Presley Story (1977) 
- Elvis! His Greatest Hits (1979) 
- Collectors Gold (1991) 
- For The Asking (The Lost Album) (1991) 
- Forever, Volume 2 (1992)
- Romantique (1993)
- From Nashville To Memphis - The Essential 60's Masters (1993) 
- Legendary Elvis Presley (2000)
- Today, Tomorrow And Forever (2002) 
- Studio B: Nashville Outtakes (2003) - FTD 
- Close Up (2003) - box set
- Elvis Sings Memphis Tennessee (2008) - FTD 
 Elvis' Golden Records, Volume 4 
 The Making of Viva Las Vegas (2019) - FTD 

Main Page  Songs   Return   Forward