« Main Page « Songs  « Return   Forward »


Lovin' Arms



Loving Arms was written by Tom Jans and first recorded by Dobie Gray in 1973. His recording (MCA 40100) reached #61 on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart. In 1974 Kris Kirstofferson and Rita Coolidge (A&M 1498), and Petula Clark (Dunhill 15019) had recordings of Loving Arms.


On December 13, 1973, Elvis recorded Loving Arms as Lovin’ Arms at Stax Studios in Memphis. Seven years later, on October 17, 1980, Felton Jarvis directed the recording of new instrumental track for an alternate take of the song at Young ‘Un Sound in Nashville. The resulting single release had a 15-week stay on Billboard’s country chart, reaching a high of #8.



If you could see me now, the one who said that he would rather roam
The one who said he'd rather be alone, if you could only see me now
If I could hold you now, just for a moment if I could really make you mine
Just for a while turn back the hands of time, if I could only hold you now

1. I've been too long in the wind, too long in the rain, takin' any comfort that I can
Looking back and longing for the freedom of my chains and lying in your lovin' arms again

If you could hear me now singin' somewhere through the lonely night
Dreaming of the arms that held me tight, if you could only hear me now

1. (repeat)

I can almost feel your lovin' arms again

Where it was released:

Released for the fist time on Good Times »


- My Boy / Lovin’ Arms (RCA 2458EX) 1974. Disc jockey promotional release. This rare recording was issued to promote the Good Times LP. It came with no picture sleeve, just a two-color sleeve with “ELVIS PRESLEY-MY BOY” printed on it.

- Lovin’ Arms / You Asked Me To (RCA PB-12205) April 1981. Standard release. This single was the first since 1956 that was not released with a picture sleeve »

- Lovin’ Arms / You Asked Me To (RCA JB-12205) April 1981. Disc jockey promotional release. This record was pressed on green vinyl.



- Good Times (1974) »

– Guitar Man (1981) »

- Walk a Mile in My Shoes – The Essential 70’s Masters (1995)

- Forever in Love (1997)

- Essential Elvis, Volume 5 – Rhythm & Country (1998)

- The Country Side of Elvis (1999)

- Too Much Monkey Business (2000) - FTD »

- The Country Side of Elvis (2001)

- From Elvis in Memphis; Promised Land; Moody Blue (2001)

- Good Times (2009) - FTD » 

- Hits of the 70s (2012) - FTD »

« Main Page « Songs  « Return   Forward »