« Main Page  « Songs  « Return  Forward »


U.S. Male





The original recording of U.S. Male was by its composer, Jerry Reed, in early 1967 on his album The Unbelievable Guitar and Voice of Jerry Reed (RCA LPM-LSP-3756). Reed later played lead guitar on Elvis's successful single version, which was recorded at RCA's Nashville studios on January 17, 1968. It had a nine-week stay on Billboard's Hot 100 chart, peaking at #28. U.S. Male reached #55 on the country chart, staying on the chart for six weeks.



Now, I'm a U.S. Male 'cause I was born in a Mississippi town on a Sunday morn

Now Mississippi just happens to occupy a place in the south eastern portion of this here United States
Now that's a matter of fact, buddy and you know it well
So I just call myself the U.S. Male, that's M-A-L-E, son. That's me!

Now I said all that to say all this I've been watchin' the way you've been watchin' my miss
For the last three weeks you been hot on her trail and you kinda upset this U.S. Male
You touch her once with your greasy hands I'm gonna stretch your neck like a long rubber band
She's wearin' a ring that I bought her on sale and that makes her the property of this U.S. Male

1. You better not mess with the U.S. Male my friend
The U.S. Male gets mad, he's gonna do you in
You know what's good for yourself son, you better find somebody else son
Don't tamper with the property of the U.S. Male

Through the rain and the heat and the sleet and the snow the U.S. Male is on his toes
Quit watchin' my woman, for that ain't wise you ain't pullin' no wool over this boy's eyes
I catch you 'round my woman, champ, I'm gonna leave your head 'bout the shape of a stamp
Kinda flattened out, so you'll do well to quit playin' games with this U.S. Male

1. (repeat)

All right... now I'm gonna tell it like it is son

I catch you messin' 'round with that woman of mine
I'm gonna lay one on ya’

You're talkin' to the U.S. Male

Where it was released:

First released on single »



- U.S. Male / Stay Away (RCA 47-9465) March 1968. Standard release »

- U.S. Male / Stay Away (RCA 447-0664) 1970. Gold standard series reissue.

- Until it's Time for You to Go / U.S. Male (Collectables DPE1-1017 4517) December 1986.



- Stay Away (1968)



- Almost in Love (1970) »

– Memories of Elvis (1978) »

– Country Music (1981) - Time Life »

- Double Dynamite (1982)

- The Collection, Volume 4 (1986)

- From Nashville to Memphis – The Essential 60’s Masters (1993)

- Always Elvis – The Dutch Álbum (1997)

- Elvis’ Golden Records, Volume 5 (1997)

- Tomorrow is a Long Time (1999)

- Country Rock (2001)

- Elvis 60’s (2001)

- Today Tomorrow and Forever (2002)

- Close Up (2003)

- So High (2004) - FTD »

- Hitstory (2005)

- Almost in Love (2006)

– Stay Away Joe (2013) - FTD »

« Main Page  « Songs  « Return  Forward »