Main Page Songs   Return   Forward


It's Midnight


(Wheeler / Chestnut)


Its Midnight was written by Billy Ebb Wheeler and Jerry Chestnut and first recorded by Elvis on December 10, 1973, at Stax Records. His single release had a 14-week stay on Billboards country chart, reaching # 9. On the Easy-Listening chart, the song reached # 8.



Maybe it's too late. Sometimes I even hate myself for loving you

Trying to be strong then night time comes along and I start loving you
Wanting you. Where is all my self control I'm burning way down in my soul
And needing you, and wishing I could be the man I try to
Hating me for wanting to be with you, knowing you don't love me like you used to
But it's midnight and I miss you

1. It's getting late and I know that's when I am weak
Funny how things have a way of looking so much brighter in the day light
I ought to go to bed to try and straighten out my head and just forget you
Oh, but it's midnight yes and I miss you

1. (repeat)

It's midnight and I miss you


Where it was released:

Released for the fist time on single 



- Promised Land / Its Midnight (RCA PB-10074) October 1974. Standard release

- Promised Land / Its Midnight (RCA JA-10074) October 1974. Disc jockey promotional release.

- Promised Land / Its Midnight (RCA GB-10488) February 1976. Gold standard series reissue.



- Promised Land (1975)

- Our Memories of Elvis (1979)

- Always on My Mind (1985)

- Walk a Mile in My Shoes The Essential 70s Masters (1995)

- Are You Lonesome Tonight (1997)

- Platinum A Life in Music (1997)

- From Elvis in Memphis; Promised Land; Moody Blue (2001)

- Live in Las Vegas (2001)

- The Country Side of Elvis (2001)

- Its Midnight (2001) - FTD

- Dragonheart (2003) - FTD

- Big Boss Man (2005) FTD

- Southern Nights (2006) FTD

- Made in Memphis (2006) - FTD  

- Nevada Nights (2008) - FTD

- From Sunset to Las Vegas (2009) - FTD

- Promised Land (2011) - FTD

- Our Memories of Elvis, Volume 1, 2 & 3 (2012) - FTD

- Hits of the 70s (2012) - FTD

In Florida (2014) - FTD

Las Vegas 1975 (2016) - FTD

Las Vegas '74 (2017) - FTD


Bootleg Releases:

- Big Boss Man (1974) - no label

- Command Performance (1977) - ECP

Main Page Songs   Return   Forward