« Main Page  « Songs  « Return   Forward »




(McCartney / Lennon)



Although credited as a John Lennon-Paul McCartney composition, Yesterday was actually written by McCartney. The working title was "Scrambled Egg". The other three Beatles were not in the studio when McCartney recorded Yesterday. The only instrumentation was McCartney's accoustic guitar and a string quartet. Yesterday (Capitol 5498) reached number one on Billboard's Hot 100 chart in 1965 and stayed there for four weeks. Sales quickly exceeded one million copies. Interestingly, the song was not released as a single in Great Britain until 1976. Matt Monroe had the original hit with Yesterday in that country in 1965, reaching #8 on the British chart. In the United States, Ray Charles had a hit rhythm & blues version of the song in 1967 (ABC 11009). Yesterday is the most recorded pop song in history, with more than 2,500 cover versions.


Elvis sang Yesterday in a medley with Hey Jude at many of his concerts in the 1970s. While at the International Hotel in Las Vegas on August 25, 1969, RCA recorded Elvis's medley for inclusion in the On Stage - February, 1970 LP. Hey Jude, however, was not used on the album. Despite the album's title, Yesterday was not recorded in February 1970. Vocal overdubs were done on April 1, 1970. A different recording from that of the August 1969 engagement appeared on the Elvis Aron Presley boxed set.



Yesterday all my troubles seemed so far away

Now it looks as though they're here to stay
Oh I believe in yesterday

Suddenly I’m not half the man I used to be
There's a shadow hanging over me
Oh, yesterday came suddenly

1. Why she had to go
I don't know, she wouldn't say
I said something wrong, now I long for yesterday

2. Yesterday love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday


1. 2. (repeat)

Where it was released:

First released on On Stage »


- On Stage (1970) »

- Legendary Concert Performances (1978) »

- Greatest Moments in Music (1979) »

– Elvis Aron Presley (1980) »

- More Romantics (1997)

- Elvis Aron Presley (1998)

- That’s the Way It Is – Special Edition (2000)

- Live in Las Vegas (2001)

- Elvis at the International (2002) - FTD »

- All Shook Up (2005) – FTD »

- Writing for the King (2006) - FTD »

- Viva Las Vegas (2007)

- In Person (2008) – FTD »

- On Stage - February, 1970 (2012) - FTD »

– Hot August Night (2013) - FTD »

- The Return to Vegas (2014) - FTD »

– That's The Way It Is - 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition (2020) - FTD


Bootleg Releases:
- The Legend Lives On (1976) - Presley Collection Series
- Superstar Outtakes (1976) - E.P. Records

« Main Page  « Songs  « Return   Forward »